top of page
  • killianjburke1

Benefits of running

Running has become part of my life. I don't even have to think about it, I just start running and the rest is fun.


  1. Strengthens your heart: When you run, your heart rate increases. This means that your heart is working harder than it usually would at rest. Over time, your heart will develop into a muscle monster. Think of it like a person working out in the gym. It's the same principle.

  2. You will feel better: Running releases happy hormones, especially when you finish the run. It clears the mind of worries. Listen to a podcast or music while running and you will be feeling even better.

  3. Running gives you self confidence: Running is not easy for many. The physical demands, etc, can put people off. However, if you do manage to reach your distance goal, you will want to aim higher next time. When I am approaching the finish line, I push myself all the way to the end. Most importantly, I believe in myself. I never give up. These mind skills will benefit you in all aspects of life.

  4. Strengthens bones: Running helps to straighten bones. Osteoblasts in the medullary cavity of the bones are stimulated when we exercise, especially running. This results in bones becoming thicker and stronger.

  5. The best way to burn calories: As I mentioned before, your heart is demanded to work harder when you are running. This means that more muscles are used in the body. Muscles use energy in the form of ATP. As a result, more energy is burned. Running burns up to twice the calories as walking. If your in a rush, running will do the job.

Running is about enjoyment and fun. Try it out today and you will soon fall in love with it.




8 views
bottom of page