top of page
  • killianjburke1

The Best Experience Of My Life: Erasmus+




🌿📸 #EcoYouthWork Ecological Approach to Facilitating Non Formal Learning Activities Mobility Completed! 🌍✨


🎉 I just finished an amazing training course on eco-facilitation for youth workers! 🌱💚 I had the privilege to work alongside 35 participants from Poland, Italy, Ireland, Spain, Turkey, Romania, Estonia, and the Czech Republic! 🇵🇱🇮🇹🇮🇪🇪🇸🇹🇷🇷🇴🇪🇪🇨🇿

It was one of the best experiences of my life and truly unforgettable. 

So what was it all about?


🔹 What is Ecopsychology? It's a branch of psychology from the '90s that believes mental health and wellbeing can be improved by fostering healthy relationships with the environment and community. 🌿👫


🔹 The course aimed to transfer these principles and tools to youth workers who already support young people through training, mentoring, learning facilitation, counselling, or therapy. 🌟📚


🔹 Isolation is a key issue, and eco-coaching addresses this by encouraging a connection between self, community, and biosphere, providing tools to positively engage with the natural world and community. 🏞️🤝


💡 What did we do? Our group learned eco-facilitation principles and tools through preparation activities, including positive psychology and nature connectedness tests, followed by non-formal education activities. At the end, we created action plans to integrate eco-based techniques into their youth work and share their knowledge with youth groups and communities. 📝🌍


🎯 Our goal? To incorporate ecopsychology-based activities into youth work to address the need for community, respond to climate anxiety affecting young people, and strengthen the impact of youth work at local, European, and global levels, promoting sustainable and ecological attitudes and values. 💪🌿


A big thank you to all the people and partners who made this project possible and so successful🌟 Together, we're creating a better, more sustainable world! 🌍💚 #EcoFacilitation #YouthWork #EcoPsychology #Sustainability #YouthPower


Further Analysis:


1. Multilingual competence:

How did you communicate before and after the project with the people from other countries (e-mail, Skype, telephone)? 

What did you learn from that? 

What aspects (ways of communication, expressing yourself, new words and phrases, traditions etc) of a foreign language did you learn? 

Which situations in the project helped you in that? 

Do you feel more confident now when you want to express yourself in a foreign language? 


Before the project, we primarily communicated through e-mail to share essential information, schedules, and preparation materials. This was complemented on WhatsApp to discuss logistics, and clarify any questions. It was great for more immediate and casual communication. After the project, we continued using e-mail for follow-up reports and to share outcomes, while maintaining the WhatsApp group for ongoing support and networking. From this communication, I learned the importance of clear and concise messaging, especially when language barriers exist. I also gained experience in using different communication platforms effectively, understanding their strengths and limitations. Additionally, I developed better time management skills by coordinating meetings across various time zones and improved my ability to follow up and maintain professional relationships post-project. During the project, I picked up several new words and phrases, particularly eco-related terminology and everyday conversational language. I learned how to express complex ideas about ecopsychology and eco-facilitation in simpler terms that non-native speakers could understand. I also became more familiar with different communication styles and cultural norms, such as the use of polite forms, gestures, and body language that varied from country to country. Several situations helped enhance my language skills: Group discussions and workshops where I had to articulate my thoughts clearly and listen actively to others. Collaborative tasks that required negotiating roles, responsibilities, and outcomes. Informal social interactions, like meal times and cultural exchange evenings, where I could practice speaking in a more relaxed setting and learn about each other's traditions. Presenting our action plans and receiving feedback, which helped me refine my language and presentation skills. Yes, I feel much more confident now. The immersive experience of working and living with people from various countries improved my ability to think on my feet and communicate effectively. I am more comfortable initiating conversations, asking questions, and expressing my ideas in a foreign language. This confidence extends not only to professional settings but also to everyday interactions with people from different linguistic backgrounds. These experiences have greatly enhanced my intercultural communication skills and my ability to work collaboratively in an international context.


2. Personal, social and learning to learn competence: 

Did you learn things that you did not plan or expect to learn? Which? How did you learn? 

When was learning easy for you and when was it challenging? 

What did you discover about yourself? 

In what ways do you think your participation in the project has changed you? 

How did you approach group work and how did you cooperate with others during the project


Yes, I learned several unexpected things during the project: Cultural Nuances: Beyond language, I gained a deeper understanding of the cultural nuances and social etiquette of different countries, such as specific greetings, meal traditions, and non-verbal communication cues. This was learned through daily interactions and cultural exchange activities. Personal Resilience: I discovered my own capacity for adaptability and resilience in navigating a new environment and handling unexpected challenges, like logistical issues or differing team dynamics. Practical Eco-Facilitation Techniques: While I expected to learn theoretical aspects, I was surprised by the variety of practical, hands-on eco-facilitation techniques, such as nature-based mindfulness exercises and community engagement strategies. These were learned through interactive workshops and field activities. Easy Learning Moments: Interactive Workshops: Engaging, hands-on activities and discussions where I could actively participate and apply what I was learning made the process enjoyable and straightforward. Peer Learning: Sharing experiences and knowledge with fellow participants in an open and supportive environment facilitated easy learning. Challenging Learning Moments: Language Barriers: At times, understanding and communicating complex ideas in a foreign language was challenging, especially in technical discussions. Group Dynamics: Navigating different working styles and resolving conflicts in group work required patience and adaptability. 3. What did you discover about yourself? I discovered that I have a strong ability to adapt to new environments and work collaboratively with people from diverse backgrounds. I also realized that I am more resilient and resourceful than I previously thought, capable of handling unexpected challenges with a positive attitude. Additionally, I found a deep interest and passion for eco-facilitation and sustainable practices that I want to integrate into my future work. 4. In what ways do you think your participation in the project has changed you? Participation in the project has significantly changed me by: Boosting Confidence: I feel more confident in my communication skills, especially in a foreign language, and in presenting my ideas to an international audience. Enhanced Cultural Awareness: I have a greater appreciation and understanding of different cultures, which has made me more open-minded and empathetic. Professional Growth: I have gained valuable skills and knowledge in eco-facilitation that I can apply to my work, enhancing my ability to support youth and community projects. Personal Development: The experience has made me more adaptable, resilient, and motivated to pursue sustainable practices in both my personal and professional life. 5. How did you approach group work and how did you cooperate with others during the project? Approach to Group Work: Open Communication: I ensured open and transparent communication within the group, encouraging everyone to share their ideas and opinions. Active Listening: I practiced active listening to understand different perspectives and to build a cohesive team dynamic. Flexibility: I remained flexible and adaptable, willing to take on different roles and responsibilities as needed. Cooperation with Others: Collaborative Mindset: I approached collaboration with a positive and collaborative mindset, focusing on common goals and mutual support. Conflict Resolution: When conflicts arose, I addressed them constructively, seeking to understand the root causes and find mutually agreeable solutions. Inclusivity: I made an effort to include everyone in discussions and activities, ensuring that all voices were heard and valued.


3. Citizenship competence: 

What did you learn about the living conditions of the people from other countries? 

Did your perspective on Europe change? In what way? 

How can you contribute to the social or environmental initiatives around you?


1. What did you learn about the living conditions of the people from other countries? During the project, I gained insight into the diverse living conditions and social contexts of people from various countries. For instance: Poland and Romania: I learned about the economic challenges and social issues some communities face, such as youth unemployment and access to education. Italy and Spain: Participants shared their experiences with urban living, the impact of tourism on local communities, and efforts towards sustainable urban development. Ireland and Estonia: I discovered the emphasis on preserving natural landscapes and the integration of eco-friendly practices into daily life. Turkey and the Czech Republic: Discussions highlighted the blend of modern and traditional lifestyles, and the unique environmental challenges each country faces, such as water scarcity and air pollution. These conversations deepened my understanding of the varying degrees of economic development, social issues, and environmental challenges across Europe. 2. Did your perspective on Europe change? In what way? Yes, my perspective on Europe broadened significantly. Unity in Diversity: I developed a greater appreciation for the diversity within Europe and how cultural differences enrich the continent. Despite the varied traditions and living conditions, there is a shared commitment to addressing common challenges like climate change and social inclusion. Interconnectedness: I realized how interconnected European countries are, not only geographically but also socially and economically. This understanding reinforced the importance of collaborative efforts and mutual support across borders. European Identity: My sense of a European identity strengthened as I saw firsthand the value of programs like Erasmus in fostering cross-cultural understanding and cooperation. It highlighted the potential for unity in tackling global issues and the role of European institutions in facilitating this collaboration. 3. How can you contribute to the social or environmental initiatives around you? I can contribute to social and environmental initiatives in several ways: Local Engagement: By participating in or organizing community projects focused on sustainability, such as clean-up drives, tree planting, or educational workshops on environmental conservation. Awareness Campaigns: Using social media and other platforms to raise awareness about environmental issues and promote sustainable practices within my community. Youth Work Integration: Applying the eco-facilitation techniques and principles learned during the Erasmus program to my work with youth groups, encouraging them to engage in environmental stewardship and community building. Collaborative Projects: Initiating or joining collaborative projects that bring together people from different backgrounds to address local and global challenges, fostering a sense of community and shared responsibility. Advocacy: Advocating for policy changes at the local level that support sustainable development and environmental protection, using the knowledge and skills gained from the training to inform and influence decision-makers. By taking these steps, I can help promote a culture of sustainability and social responsibility in my community, contributing to broader efforts to create a more equitable and environmentally conscious society.


4. Entrepreneurship competence: 

Which interests, passions and talents did you develop during the project? 

What did you learn about project management, teamwork and cooperation?


1. Which interests, passions, and talents did you develop during the project? During the project, I developed and deepened several interests, passions, and talents: Interest in Ecopsychology: I became deeply interested in ecopsychology and its applications in youth work. Understanding how connecting with nature can improve mental health and well-being sparked a passion for integrating these principles into my professional practice. Passion for Sustainability: The focus on eco-facilitation reinforced my passion for sustainability and environmental stewardship. I became more committed to promoting eco-friendly practices and sustainable living both personally and within my community. Talent in Facilitation: Through the training, I honed my facilitation skills, particularly in leading group activities and discussions around complex topics like mental health and environmental conservation. This involved learning how to create inclusive and engaging environments for participants. Creative Problem-Solving: I discovered a talent for creative problem-solving, especially when addressing challenges that arose during group projects and activities. This included developing innovative solutions to logistical issues and enhancing group dynamics. 2. What did you learn about project management, teamwork, and cooperation? Project Management: Planning and Organization: I learned the importance of thorough planning and organization. This includes setting clear objectives, creating detailed action plans, and anticipating potential challenges. Time Management: Managing time effectively was crucial, particularly when balancing multiple tasks and deadlines. I learned to prioritize tasks and allocate time efficiently to ensure project milestones were met. Resource Management: Efficient use of available resources, including materials, time, and human resources, was essential. I gained experience in identifying and leveraging the strengths and skills of team members to optimize outcomes. Teamwork: Role Allocation: I learned the importance of clearly defining roles and responsibilities within the team. This helped in ensuring that each team member knew their specific contributions and how they aligned with the overall project goals. Communication: Open and continuous communication was key to successful teamwork. I learned to actively listen to team members, encourage the sharing of ideas, and maintain transparency in decision-making processes. Conflict Resolution: Handling conflicts constructively was a vital skill I developed. This involved addressing issues promptly, understanding different perspectives, and finding mutually agreeable solutions to maintain team harmony. Cooperation: Collaboration: I realized the value of collaboration in achieving common goals. Working together with people from diverse backgrounds and perspectives enriched the project outcomes and fostered a sense of unity and shared purpose. Flexibility and Adaptability: Cooperation often required being flexible and adaptable. I learned to adjust plans and strategies based on feedback and changing circumstances, ensuring that the team remained resilient and responsive to challenges. Building Trust: Establishing trust within the team was fundamental to effective cooperation. This involved being reliable, supportive, and respectful of each team member's contributions, which helped build a cohesive and motivated team. Overall, the experience significantly enhanced my competencies in project management, teamwork, and cooperation, equipping me with valuable skills that I can apply in future professional and personal endeavors.


5. Competence in cultural awareness and expression:  

How did you learn new ideas or methodologies for working with art and culture? 

How open were you to experience forms of culture that were new to you? 

When were you able to use different media and forms of expression (e.g. verbal, drawing, body) to express yourself in different situations?


1. How did you learn new ideas or methodologies for working with art and culture? During the Erasmus program, I was exposed to various innovative ideas and methodologies for integrating art and culture into youth work: Workshops and Activities: Participating in diverse workshops that included creative arts, storytelling, and cultural exchange activities helped me learn new ways to incorporate artistic expression into my work. For example, we engaged in group mural painting, which demonstrated how art can be used to convey collective messages and foster community spirit. Peer Learning: Interacting with participants from different countries provided a platform to exchange best practices and methodologies. I learned about unique cultural activities and artistic methods used in other countries, such as traditional dances, music, and crafts. Resource Sharing: Access to shared resources, including educational materials, case studies, and toolkits on art-based facilitation methods, broadened my understanding of how art and culture can be effectively integrated into youth work. 2. How open were you to experiencing forms of culture that were new to you? I was very open to experiencing and embracing new forms of culture. This openness was driven by a genuine curiosity and eagerness to learn from others. Some ways this openness was manifested include: Active Participation: I actively participated in all cultural exchange activities, trying out traditional dances, learning new songs, and engaging in cultural rituals shared by my peers. Asking Questions: I asked questions and showed enthusiasm in understanding the historical and cultural significance behind different traditions and art forms. This helped deepen my appreciation and respect for diverse cultural expressions. Reflective Practice: I took time to reflect on these new experiences, considering how they challenged or complemented my own cultural background and how they could be integrated into my future work with youth. 3. When were you able to use different media and forms of expression (e.g., verbal, drawing, body) to express yourself in different situations? Throughout the project, I had numerous opportunities to use various media and forms of expression: Verbal Expression: During group discussions, presentations, and storytelling sessions, I used verbal communication to share my ideas and experiences. This was particularly effective in formal settings like workshops and feedback sessions. Drawing and Visual Arts: In activities like mural painting and creating vision boards, I used drawing and visual arts to express my thoughts and emotions. These activities allowed me to communicate in a more abstract and creative way, which was especially useful in overcoming language barriers. Body Language and Movement: Through participatory activities such as traditional dances, role-playing, and team-building exercises, I used body language and movement to convey messages and emotions. These forms of expression helped build rapport and understanding among participants, regardless of linguistic differences. Multimedia: In some sessions, we used multimedia tools such as videos, music, and digital presentations. These allowed for dynamic and engaging ways to share cultural stories and experiences.


6. Digital competence: 

What kinds of different technologies did you use to prepare for the project (e.g. social media, audio-visual editing software, tiktoks)? 

What kinds of different technologies did you experience during the mobility (e.g. VR, tiktoks etc.)?


1. What kinds of different technologies did you use to prepare for the project? In preparation for the project, I utilized a variety of technologies to ensure effective communication, collaboration, and organization: Social Media: Platforms like Facebook and Instagram were used to connect with other participants, share information about the project, and create a sense of community before meeting in person. These platforms also helped in sharing preparatory materials and updates. Communication Tools: E-mail and messaging apps like WhatsApp were essential for coordinating logistics, sharing documents, and maintaining ongoing communication with the organizers and other participants. Collaborative Platforms: Tools like Google Drive and Dropbox were used for sharing and collaborating on documents, schedules, and resource materials. Google Docs and Sheets facilitated real-time collaboration and planning. 2. What kinds of different technologies did you experience during the mobility? During the mobility phase of the project, I encountered and used various technologies to enhance the learning experience and facilitate communication: Digital Presentations: Tools like PowerPoint and Prezi were used for presentations during workshops and seminars. These helped in organizing and presenting information clearly and interactively. Multimedia Production: We used audio and video recording equipment to document the project activities and create multimedia content. This included interviews, daily vlogs, and video diaries, which were later edited and shared with the group and on social media. Collaborative Software: Continued use of Google Drive and other collaborative platforms ensured that all participants could access and contribute to shared resources, reports, and project documentation in real-time.


7. Mathematical competence and competence in science, technology, engineering (STEM): 

How much were you involved in developing your own project or initiative during the mobility and what have you learned in terms of project management?

How did you approach problems? How did you make sure that you could foresee potential problems?

How did you cope with new and unexpected situations?


1. How much were you involved in developing your own project or initiative during the mobility and what have you learned in terms of project management? During the mobility, I was actively involved in developing a small project focused on integrating eco-facilitation techniques into youth work. My involvement included: Idea Development: Collaborating with team members to brainstorm and refine the project idea, ensuring it was aligned with the principles of ecopsychology and the objectives of the training course. Planning and Organization: Creating a detailed project plan that outlined objectives, timelines, resources, and responsibilities. This included using project management tools such as Gantt charts to visually represent the project timeline and milestones. Execution: Implementing the project plan by organizing workshops and activities that incorporated eco-facilitation techniques. This involved coordinating with participants, arranging materials, and managing logistics. Evaluation and Feedback: Conducting evaluations to assess the effectiveness of the project activities and gathering feedback from participants. This data was used to refine and improve future initiatives. Learning Outcomes in Project Management: Time Management: I learned the importance of setting realistic timelines and managing time effectively to meet project deadlines. Resource Allocation: Efficiently allocating resources, including materials, time, and human resources, to ensure the project ran smoothly. Team Coordination: Developing skills in coordinating with team members, assigning tasks based on strengths, and maintaining open communication to ensure everyone was on the same page. Problem-Solving: Enhancing my ability to anticipate and address potential challenges, ensuring the project stayed on track. 2. How did you approach problems? How did you make sure that you could foresee potential problems? Approach to Problems: Proactive Planning: During the planning phase, I identified potential risks and challenges that could arise. This involved conducting a SWOT analysis (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) to understand the internal and external factors that could impact the project. Scenario Planning: I used scenario planning to envision different possible outcomes and prepared contingency plans for each scenario. This helped in being prepared for various situations. Regular Check-Ins: Conducting regular check-ins with the team to monitor progress and address any emerging issues promptly. This involved scheduled meetings and using collaborative platforms to stay updated. Consulting Experts: Seeking advice from trainers and experienced participants who could provide insights and suggest solutions based on their expertise. Foreseeing Potential Problems: Risk Assessment: Conducting a thorough risk assessment at the beginning of the project to identify potential challenges and developing strategies to mitigate these risks. Feedback Loops: Establishing feedback loops where team members could report any issues or concerns early on, allowing for timely intervention. Pilot Testing: Implementing a pilot test for some activities to identify any unforeseen problems and adjust the plan accordingly before full-scale implementation. 3. How did you cope with new and unexpected situations? Coping Strategies: Adaptability: Remaining flexible and open-minded, ready to adjust plans and strategies in response to new information or changing circumstances. Calm and Composure: Maintaining a calm and composed demeanor when faced with unexpected challenges, which helped in thinking clearly and making rational decisions. Collaborative Problem-Solving: Engaging the team in brainstorming sessions to generate solutions for unexpected issues. This collective approach often led to innovative and effective solutions. Resourcefulness: Utilizing available resources creatively to address unforeseen problems. This included leveraging the diverse skills and knowledge of team members. Continuous Learning: Viewing unexpected situations as learning opportunities, reflecting on what went wrong, and applying those lessons to future projects.


8. Literacy Competence: 

What kind of opportunities did you have to express yourself in writing? How do you feel about this? 

When and how did you adapt your language to different people you were talking to? 

How did communicating in a foreign language influence your communication in your mother tongue? 

Did that change the way you look at your own language?


1. What kind of opportunities did you have to express yourself in writing? How do you feel about this? During the Erasmus project, I had several opportunities to express myself in writing: Project Reports: Writing detailed reports about the activities, outcomes, and personal reflections on the project. This included summarizing workshops, outlining eco-facilitation techniques, and evaluating the impact of the training. Journaling: Keeping a personal journal to document daily experiences, thoughts, and learning moments. This helped in reflecting on my personal growth and the overall experience. Email Communication: Engaging in formal email communication with project coordinators and participants to coordinate logistics, share resources, and provide feedback. Social Media Posts: Creating posts for social media platforms to share updates, insights, and highlights from the project with a broader audience. Feelings About Writing Opportunities: I felt positive about these writing opportunities as they allowed me to articulate my thoughts, reflect deeply on my experiences, and communicate effectively with others. Writing enhanced my ability to organize ideas clearly and convey complex concepts succinctly. 2. When and how did you adapt your language to different people you were talking to? Adapting Language: Formal vs. Informal: When communicating with project coordinators or during official presentations, I used formal language, ensuring clarity and professionalism. In contrast, informal conversations with peers were more casual and conversational. Simplifying Language: When speaking with non-native English speakers or participants with varying levels of language proficiency, I simplified my language, avoiding jargon and using clear, straightforward sentences. Cultural Sensitivity: Being mindful of cultural differences, I adjusted my language to be respectful and culturally appropriate. This included understanding and using culturally relevant terms and expressions when appropriate. Non-Verbal Cues: Complementing verbal communication with non-verbal cues like gestures, facial expressions, and body language to enhance understanding and convey meaning more effectively. Examples: Group Discussions: During group discussions, I used inclusive language, ensuring everyone felt comfortable contributing. This often involved paraphrasing or rephrasing to ensure mutual understanding. Workshops: In workshops, I adapted my language based on the audience’s familiarity with the topic. For example, when explaining eco-facilitation techniques to beginners, I used simpler explanations and analogies. 3. How did communicating in a foreign language influence your communication in your mother tongue? Influence on Communication: Clarity and Precision: Communicating in a foreign language required me to be clear and precise. This habit carried over to my communication in my mother tongue, making me more concise and deliberate in my word choice. Patience and Listening: I became more patient and attentive, as I needed to listen carefully to understand others and be understood. This improved my active listening skills in my native language. Cultural Awareness: Increased cultural awareness and sensitivity influenced how I expressed myself in my mother tongue, making me more mindful of cultural nuances and respectful communication. 4. Did that change the way you look at your own language? Yes, the experience changed the way I view my own language: Appreciation: I developed a greater appreciation for the complexity and richness of my native language. Seeing others navigate the challenges of learning and using a foreign language highlighted the nuances and flexibility of my own. Comparative Understanding: Comparing linguistic structures and expressions between languages deepened my understanding of my native language’s unique features and its role in shaping thought and communication. Language as a Tool: I came to see language more as a tool for connection and understanding, rather than just a means of communication. This perspective has encouraged me to be more intentional and thoughtful in my language use.


Thank you once again to @orielassociation, @fundacjarysy, @cisneklate, @rescogitata for making this possible.

50 views

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page